If you are a teacher who is considering going back to school to earn a degree in Educational Leadership, it is important to research the scholarships available to those pursuing the degree. Navigating the world of scholarships can be a bit daunting since it’s often confusing as to who qualifies for what scholarships. There is a lot of scholarship money available to those in the field of education, and to access it you must meet certain requirements. The following scholarships are available to all teachers, but read the stipulations carefully to be sure you understand what you are signing up for.

Federal TEACH Grant

The Federal TEACH Grant is available to any licensed teacher in the United States who agrees to their requirements. Graduate students in the TEACH Grant program are eligible for up to $8,000. The additional qualifications are: :

Featured Programs

  • You must serve as a full-time teacher for a total of at least four academic years within eight years after you complete your degree or otherwise cease to be enrolled in the program(s) for which you received TEACH Grant funds.
  • You must perform the teaching service as a highly qualified teacher at a low-income school or educational service agency.
  • Your teaching service must be in a high-need field.

If you do not meet the requirements of your service obligation, all TEACH Grant funds you received will be converted to a Direct Unsubsidized Loan. To learn more about the TEACH grant, visit the TEACH Grant website.

Educational Administration Scholarship Award

This award was created in 1949 to promote scholarship to high achieving graduate students studying school administration who wish to make school superintendency their career. Seven scholarships of $2,500 each are awarded every year by the American Association of School Administrators (AASA). Winners of this scholarship are recognized at the AASA’s National Conference on Education, and are awarded a $500 grant to cover travel expenses. Applications for this scholarship are due by September 30th, 2014.

Dr. Marc Hull Special Education Leadership Scholarship

This scholarship was created in 2005 to pay respects to former Vermont Commissioner of Education, Dr. Marc Hull. Applicants for this scholarship must meet the following requirements:

  • Attend an accredited post-secondary school approved for federal Title IV funding
  • Seek a certificate or license in special education administration
  • Enroll at least quarter-time (minimum 3 credits/semester)
  • Demonstrate academic achievement (minimum 3.0 cumulative GPA on a 4.0 scale)

In addition, many other scholarships are available to those pursuing a degree in Educational Leadership. A great resource is the Scholarship.com website. Take time to carefully research your options, complete application materials with care, and you may find yourself a recipient of one or more worthy scholarships.

Additional Resource: What is the Average Cost to Obtain an Educational Leadership Degree?